Balance Regained

I wish I could write about balance
Yet it seems much is lost with me
Like the philosophy that’s used to define
Or the friends who used to get high
Yes, it seems I have aged for the worse
Becoming the very thing I fought against
The usual nine to five employee
Whose life revolves around a clock
Desperately waiting for the ringing bell
So that I might go home just to start over

“Can you help me with my homework?”

I’m a father now and having a purpose
Helps to cleanse the monotony
Yet, there is always that lingering thought
Who am I
Is this balance?
Or is balance lost?
The uncertainty is maddening as I return to the present
“Life is the geometric progression of experience”
It slips out and they want and explanation
“Please, Dad!”
I internalize the conflict
As I struggle to reconnect with my former philosopher
So I draw two dots for them
One is me now and one is me then
“Boys, this dot here is who your father was”
“This other dot is who he’s become”
“Perhaps the value of the latter is less than its former”
“Maybe mathematics got it wrong and real value doesn’t have a power”
“Or ratio to determine greatness”
“What if the father you know now is less than the man he was”
“Like that negative sign I find myself subtracting”
“Removing years and tears and time”
“In an attempt to find that simple balance”
“Possessed by a mind without a factor”

The boys look up to me as I hide my shame
They know men do not cry
“Its okay Dad, we love you for who you are now”
“You’ve become more than just a simple number”
“To us, you are the worlds greatest father”

There it is
I think to myself
I am found
The reason I continue through the pain
(Balance Regained)

©lrthompson

2 thoughts on “Balance Regained

  1. What a beautiful message.
    Such a human thing, to constantly assess ‘who we are’ at any given moment and viewing hindsight and trying to capture foresight. Youve it expressed it intimately and vulnerably here.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started